The municipality of Basauri

The municipality of Basauri is located on the southern entrance to the metropolitan area of the city of Bilbao, capital of the province of Bizkaia, which along with Gipuzkoa and Araba makes up the Autonomous Regional of the Basque Country within the Spanish state. The municipality has various districts, two of which with regard to population size are the most important, Basauri and San Miguel.

The life of Basauri’s citizens and its social reality would be difficult to understand without the contribution of migration to its population and its current industrial and urban development. From being a rural enclave at the beginning of the 20th century, Basauri became one of the main areas of metropolitan Bilbao due to the establishment of many industrial companies from the 1930s to the 1970s.

Similar to the rest of the Basque Country, Navarre and the French Basque Country (Iparralde) two official languages are spoken, Basque and Spanish (French in the case of Iparralde). Knowledge and use of Basque contributes greatly to relationships among the citizens.

Ayuntamiento de Basauri c/ Kareaga Goikoa 52. C.P.:48970 Basauri.
Tlfn.: 94 466 63 00 | Mensajes 24 horas: 900 840 841 | E-mail: